top of page

Easter Weekend

Easter. A time of reflection and renewal. If you are a Christian then you are celebrating the death and resurrection of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.

"Why do you seek the living among the dead? He is not here but is risen!"

I was fortunate enough to be able to attend a Good Friday and Easter Sunday service. There is always a strong contrast between the two- the solemnity and remembrance on Friday, the joy and celebration on Sunday. Easter is such a special time; the darkness on Friday, the loss of hope, and then Sunday morning.

Sometimes it feels like we can get stuck in Friday, in the place of loss and hopelessness. There are seasons where we feel that every change only brings more hardship. This has certainly been my experience over the past year but Sunday changes everything. Resurrection morning!

Luckily for me, it was also my birthday on Easter Monday. Another year older and hopefully another year wiser. I got to spend my birthday back home in Wales and while I was at home visited my favourite beauty spot- Keepers Pond in Blaenavon. The views never cease to amaze me and after spending the last three months in London my lungs very much appreciate the fresh mountain air. Lambing season is well under way and seeing the little lambs gambolling after their mothers was a precious thing to witness.

I always think it's odd that January is seen as a time of fresh starts, that time of year when we set ourselves new resolutions when actually spring is a much more natural time of renewal and new life. So as I begin my 27th year on planet earth I am also hopeful for a new start, a fresh beginning and I am thankful for never ending grace and mercy. Here's to being 27! Amen.


bottom of page